Just like You in Bare Feet

Living in the background all of his life, not one to be open to sharing his life unless it was with his wife, my momma. It’s the sort of man, I look up to; very similar to my husband, Tom, a quiet man. Daddy had lots to shout out about, but mostly it was his quiet demeanor, private life that mostly drew me into his realm. Oft, it was the unspoken word that bound us. It was the osmosis of sitting next to him while he smoked a cigarette, and to this day I love smokers, the smell of cigarette smoke, and the joy I get hanging out with smokers. And, yes, today, I make no apologies as I occasionally sit alone or with a friend or two smoking a Marlboro.

Daddy loved life, his smile said it all. He was joyous in all that he did. He laughed with us; he let himself go with us; his family brought him the utmost joy. We were pretty much all he needed, and we knew that. Sitting on his lap I felt strong, protected, loved, and I knew he was my Daddy. Hurricanes, like Audrey, back in the day, were not problematic for me because Daddy was manning the ship. He would protect us. And he never failed me, as a protector, as a man I respected so, a model of what a man should be. Daddy wasn’t one to speak about his faith in God; he didn’t have to, I experienced a love from him that could only come from his higher power, Jesus, and the unconditional love that Dad felt from Jesus.

My DNA is found in my Daddy. I love the backseat, not longing for fame or fortune, my work is best done in the wings supporting others, daddy’s style. Daddy knew that a man represented himself through his daily living; it’s not what a man says; it’s what a man does. Daddy knew that to be successful in yourself you had to take care of yourself first. Jesus did that when he went off to the wilderness alone.

Yes, Daddy was never a famous person: in the news, a prominent leader, but he’s my number one hero, my daddy. I hear many people say, “What would Jesus do?” I say, “What would Daddy do?” Because of my Daddy and his perfect role as a daddy, I can call God, Daddy.”

As we laid my Daddy to rest I prayed, “Lord, please bring to my mind at least one thought of my Daddy each day.” And He, God, had honored my prayer.

Thanks Daddy for loving me.

Just like you in bare feet

Barefoot Cajun

Published by Barefoot Cajun

Barefoot Cajun lives on the Cajun Prairie in South Louisiana with his husband, farm cats, some chickens, dogs, gardens, among a host of other living creatures and interesting artifacts. He writes daily, mostly about L’anse Faquetaigue, (Turkey Hen) Area. Barefoot Cajun writes Haiku, free verse poetry, short stories, and flash fiction. He journals and writes essays. Barefoot Cajun is a foodie, specializing in Cajun cuisine and Cajun fusion. Living upon the South Louisiana Prairie, he enjoys the intergenerational living lifestyle with a host of family and friends of all ages from birth to seniors. Laissez les bon temps rouler (let the good times roll) lol

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started