Who Called My Name?

it’s 1:56 a.m.

i heard someone call my name

an angel possibly?

a spirit beckoning me?

awakening, i ask, “who called my name?”

no one answered

and so i write:

Who called my name at 1:56 a.m.?

Is it you, Lord?

I’m here ready to listen to what you have to say.

In the darkness of the morning, you have my attention.

Tell me, and He, the Lord, told me:

I just want you to be aware I’m here, with you and for you, always, even as you sleep in the darkness of a black, starless night.

I call you, friend.

I call you, love.

I’m a reminder of why you’re alive.

In your frailest moments, my power is sufficient.

I’m all you’ll ever need.

A dream, maybe?

I pinch myself; I’m awake.

Someone called my name.

Is it you, Lord?

And He asks?

How many times must you ask me?

It’s me, I called your name.

Just wanted to say, you’re my child, safe and secure in my arms.

Who called my name at 1:56 a.m.?

Is it you, Lord?

Yes, Barefoot 🦶, I called your name at 1:56 a.m. this morning.

It’s me, just checking in.

Okay, it’s you, Lord.

You called my name at 1:56 a.m.

Who else would call my name at 1:56 a.m.?

Thanks, for checking in with me, Jesus.

Thanks, for the wake-up call.

I know you’re watching over me as I lie in bed.

Pushing blood through my heart and veins, doing the work while I sleep, keeping me alive.

Are you tired, Lord?

I know you must get weary watching over me day and night.

Not at all; my children are whom I live for.

Y’all are my greatest treasures in all of my kingdom.

Oh, my, Jesus, so you’re telling me, I’m a prince, made Royal by you?

Yes, Barefoot🦶, that’s exactly what I’m saying.

You called my name, Jesus, at 1:56 a.m. this morning.

Thank you, Jesus

I’ll go back to sleep now that you’ve called my name!

Barefoot 🦶 Cajun

1:56 a. m.

Monday morning

Jesus called my name in the blueness of the night

Published by Barefoot Cajun

Barefoot Cajun lives on the Cajun Prairie in South Louisiana with his husband, farm cats, some chickens, dogs, gardens, among a host of other living creatures and interesting artifacts. He writes daily, mostly about L’anse Faquetaigue, (Turkey Hen) Area. Barefoot Cajun writes Haiku, free verse poetry, short stories, and flash fiction. He journals and writes essays. Barefoot Cajun is a foodie, specializing in Cajun cuisine and Cajun fusion. Living upon the South Louisiana Prairie, he enjoys the intergenerational living lifestyle with a host of family and friends of all ages from birth to seniors. Laissez les bon temps rouler (let the good times roll) lol

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started