You’re the Friend I Meet Each Day

Light upon my soul

Oh healing lover of my soul

Alight upon me with your heart

Balm for my soul

It’s you I’ve always wanted

It’s you I’ve always needed

Without your love

I’m just an old man cast aside

You make me somebody

Always by my side

No longer lonely

My shadow you make me feel myself

So many years I’ve been numbed

Now I’m real inside of me

I feel alive with movement

You’re the friend I meet each day

Published by Barefoot Cajun

Barefoot Cajun lives on the Cajun Prairie in South Louisiana with his husband, farm cats, some chickens, dogs, gardens, among a host of other living creatures and interesting artifacts. He writes daily, mostly about L’anse Faquetaigue, (Turkey Hen) Area. Barefoot Cajun writes Haiku, free verse poetry, short stories, and flash fiction. He journals and writes essays. Barefoot Cajun is a foodie, specializing in Cajun cuisine and Cajun fusion. Living upon the South Louisiana Prairie, he enjoys the intergenerational living lifestyle with a host of family and friends of all ages from birth to seniors. Laissez les bon temps rouler (let the good times roll) lol

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started