Alit upon a Tree

Beckoning me from my bed

The bird sings a love song

She sings of life upon a land, free and brave

My beloved Cajun prairie

Oh, prairie, love of mine

I delight in your land sublime

Inherited from forefathers

with plenty of free-flowing water

My life sustaining land

With toes placed upon that land

Gripping toward its core

They sense this place as one of longing

Never more to roam

That bird, my friend, he’s sung before

This morning his song is so much more

Of longing, being and a sense of place

Sing my song, friend of mine

Of place upon a land

Where you and I stand as one

Our lives intermingled as father and son

My feet planted on the ground

Yours suspended within a space in the air

Free falling at times

But mostly with talons ready to clasp

I hear you from upon my bed

As I wake from a spring night sleep

Your greeting of friendship sustains my longing

I join you under an arbor of rich green hue color

Such love upon a land I n’er would see afar

But right here outside my door I’m serenaded of love galore

A friend, a bird, we’ve lived together for so long

I call you by your name, Songbird

One morning, my beloved I hear your notes of song

Clearly stressed more than ever before

Danger is heard within your screech

No longer chords of sweet honey melodies

I hear a boom, a screech and a thud

Silence wrenches my soul

A thud on the ground pronounces death

It’s raining blood from the heavens

Oh, friend of mine, a thud thumps perpetually in my ear

A fatal shot from some loose finger and you’re gone

Weeping for you, my feathered friend

Consoled in memories of song the day before

Honoring you oh lovely sacred friend

Upon the spot where you sang I listen to your silence

It deafens me to utter stillness

Of a loose finger plucking your life

I cherished you then

I cherish you now

Memory of your song is all I hear today

Sustains me with tears of joy

A friend that was, is still today

Memory serves me well

Beckoning morning song to me

Where you perch a memory alit upon a tree

🦶 Cajun

4/17/24

Published by Barefoot Cajun

Barefoot Cajun lives on the Cajun Prairie in South Louisiana with his husband, farm cats, some chickens, dogs, gardens, among a host of other living creatures and interesting artifacts. He writes daily, mostly about L’anse Faquetaigue, (Turkey Hen) Area. Barefoot Cajun writes Haiku, free verse poetry, short stories, and flash fiction. He journals and writes essays. Barefoot Cajun is a foodie, specializing in Cajun cuisine and Cajun fusion. Living upon the South Louisiana Prairie, he enjoys the intergenerational living lifestyle with a host of family and friends of all ages from birth to seniors. Laissez les bon temps rouler (let the good times roll) lol

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started